Since we are locally operated, our overhead is much lower and we are able to pass these savings along to our families.
Washington state law requires that the deceased must either be embalmed or refrigerated within 24 hours of death. The actual cremation generally occurs within 3-5 days after the proper permit is obtained from the County Health Department.
Yes, you may have a variety of services with cremation. If you prefer to have more services than a simple cremation, our experienced staff will go over options to accommodate the family’s needs.
We must obtain a death certificate signed by the deceased’s attending physician or the medical examiner prior to filing the cremation permit with the State of Washington. On average, the cremated remains should be ready for you in about 5-7 business days.
Davies has strict controls and monitoring in place to ensure that every person in our care is properly identified. From the removal from the place of death, to our personal care center/crematory and then to the placement in the selected urn, your loved one’s identity and documentation are verified every step of the way.
Cremation is the process of reducing human remains to its basic elements in the form of bone fragments through flame, heat and vaporization (usually 1800 – 2000 degrees Fahrenheit for two hours or more). Cremation occurs at a crematory in a special furnace called a cremation chamber or retort. The resulting bone fragments are further reduced in size through a mechanical process and are referred to as “cremated remains.” After processing, the cremated remains are placed in an urn or other container suitable for memorialization, transport or interment.
A casket is not required for a cremation to take place. In most states, all that is required is an alternative container which can be constructed of wood or fiberboard/cardboard, and is cremated along with the deceased.
Absolutely not. Public health law states that any human remains held 24 hours beyond death, and not yet cremated or interred at a cemetery, shall be either embalmed, or kept under refrigeration. Most reputable funeral establishments and crematories have on-site refrigeration.
Yes, in most situations, the cremation provider will permit family members to be in attendance when the body is placed into the cremation chamber. Actually, a few religious groups include this as an integral part of their funeral practice.
No. Not only is it a practical impossibility, but it is illegal to do so.
Processed cremated remains are a mixture of powdery and granular substances, and are varying shades of gray to white in color.
With the exclusion of minuscule and microscopic particles, which are impossible to remove from the cremation chamber and processing machine, all of the cremated remains are returned to the family.
There is no law requiring an urn. Nevertheless, the cremated remains must be held in some type of durable container. A more traditional urn may be desired if the cremated remains are to be memorialized at home, at a public memorial service, or the remains are to be interred at a cemetery. A family member may also supply a durable container suitable for holding the cremated remains.
You should expect to purchase a casket, an outer burial container if the cemetery requires one, the opening and closing of the grave, headstone, and cemetery property, if one is not previously purchased. These charges are in addition to the funeral provider service fees, which may vary depending on the type of services you choose.
An outer burial container is placed in the grave which encases the casket in order to support the ground weight and cemetery equipment that is used and keeps the ground surface from sinking. Most outer burial containers are constructed from concrete.
An outer burial container is not required by state law, however, most cemeteries require one.
No. However, a person must be embalmed if there is a public viewing.
No. The fee is not included and varies from county to county.
You may obtain a certified copy of the death certificate from the County Health Department where the death occurred. If you let us know how many you will need, we can obtain the certified copies for you. In Washington State there is a $20 fee for each certified copy ordered. In Oregon the fee is $25 fee for each certified copy ordered plus a $20 one time state filing fee.
All funeral home activities are regulated by the Federal Trade Commission.The Funeral Rule was revised July 19, 1994 and continues to require the industry to provide information and disclosures that help consumers when shopping and purchasing funeral goods and services.
Davies Cremation and Burial Services is licensed through the State of Washington Funeral and Cemetery Board which licenses and regulates our industry in Washington.
You must apply in order to receive benefits. You may apply at any Social Security office or, if you wish, you may apply by telephone. Just dial the toll-free number 1-800-772-1213 and the operator will schedule an appointment for you or arrange for the local Social Security office to take your claim by telephone. You may also visit their website – http://www.ssa.gov.
Veterans benefits vary depending on many factors. You may contact the Veterans Affairs Office to determine what benefits can be claimed. The national, toll-free number for the Veterans Affairs Office is 1-800-827-1000.
Our office is located at 301 E McLoughlin Blvd. Suite E, Vancouver, WA 98663